Carlos Chávez (1899-1978)

  • Carlos Chávez - Tambuco (15:20)
  • Carlos Chávez - Toccata I (4:57)
  • Carlos Chávez - Toccata II (4:23)
  • Carlos Chávez - Toccata III (3:23)

    Performed by Les percussions de Strasbourg
    From Americana (1970)

    56 - Varèse, Chávez, Cage - Americana - 1970 - Philips 6526 017

    This recording is part of the Wolf Fifth Archive
    This UbuWeb resource is edited by Justin Lacko.

    Carlos Chávez, in full Carlos Antonio de Padua Chávez y Ramírez, (born June 13, 1899, Mexico City, Mex.—died Aug. 2, 1978, Mexico City), Mexican conductor and composer whose music combines elements of traditional folk songs and modern compositional techniques.

    At age 16 Chávez completed Sinfonía, his first symphony. The ballet El fuego nuevo (1921; “The New Fire”) was his first significant work in a Mexican style. He traveled in Europe and the United States, and in 1928 he founded and became conductor of the Symphony Orchestra of Mexico. From 1928 to early 1933 (and again for part of 1934) he was director of the national conservatory in Mexico.

    Chávez’s music is unmistakably Mexican in its melodic patterns and rhythmic inflections. From indigenous Mexican music he took the uses of percussion, straightforward rhythms, and old forms of harmony and melody. He was also influenced by modern European and American composers, especially Igor Stravinsky and Arnold Schoenberg.

    Among his best-known compositions are two early symphonies, Sinfonía de Antígona (1933) and Sinfonía India (1935), both one-movement works using indigenous themes. The Concerto No. 1 for piano and orchestra (1940) is highly percussive. The Toccata for percussion instruments (1942) is scored for 11 types of percussion instruments, some of them indigenous, played by six performers. Chávez’s other works include the ballet Los cuatro soles (1925; “The Four Suns”), Xochipilli Macuilxochitl for orchestra with indigenous instruments (1940), the Violin Concerto (1949–50), Discovery for orchestra (1969), and the Trombone Concerto (1975–76). Chávez published numerous essays on Mexican music and Toward a New Music (1937); his Charles Eliot Norton lectures (1958–59) at Harvard University were collected in Musical Thought (1961).

    This UbuWeb resource is edited by Justin Lacko.