Chicago '82: A Dip in the Lake

  1. Peter Gordon "Peter Gordon's Mayor Jane Byrne's New Music America Opening Address"

    Piano - "Blue" Gene Tyranny
    Voice - David van Tieghem , Jill Kroesen , Robert Ashley

  2. Peter Gordon "Wim Razor's Standing in the Shadows"

  3. Peter Gordon "My experience as a human being and as a musician."

  4. Jill Kroesen "Bum Song"

    Percussion - Peter Gordon

  5. Jill Kroesen "Jeanne d'Arc"

  6. Harold Budd "Excerpt from Children on the Hill"

  7. Harold Budd "Style comes the same way that a person's handwriting develops."

  8. Jon Gibson "Excerpt from Extensions"

  9. Meredith Monk "As if it came from an oral tradition."

  10. Meredith Monk "Excerpt from Turtle Dreams"

    Organ - Nicky Paraiso, Steve Lockwood
    Voice - Andrea Goodman, Meredith Monk, Paul Langland, Robert Een

  11. Charlemagne Palestine "Excerpt from Music for Carillon"

  12. Michael Byron "Sad story."

  13. David van Tieghem "Excerpt from Message Received"

  14. Glenn Branca Excerpt from Symphony No. 2: The Peak of the Sacred

    Drums - Stefan Wischert

    Electric Guitar - Barbara Ess, Craig Bromberg, David Linton, David Rosenbloom, Glenn Branca, Jeffrey Glenn, Lee Ranaldo, Ned Sublette, Thurston Moore

  15. John Cage / Wim Mertens "So that each person is in charge of himself.

  16. Ned Sublette "Radio Piece"


Label: Les Disques Du Crépuscule
Catalog#: TWI 116
Format: Cassette
Country: Belgium
Released: 1983
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Abstract, Experimental, Minimal, Avantgarde
Notes: A live report by Wim Mertens on the New Musical Festival in Chicago, July 1982, featuring music and interviews (by Mertens). Dedicated to John Cage, and intended to be released on his 70th birthday, 5 September 1982.

Edited for UbuWeb by Ryan Biracree.

UbuWeb Sound | UbuWeb