Boyd Rice (b. 1956)

The Black Album (1971)

  1. (untitled)
  2. (untitled)
  3. (untitled)
  4. (untitled)
  5. (untitled)
  6. (untitled)
  7. (untitled)
  8. (untitled)
  9. (untitled)
  10. (untitled)
  11. (untitled)

First "Boyd Rice LP" (1981). Released with solid black cover and no title. Later re-released on Mute with glossier cover embossed with "Boyd Rice" in lower right corner. Playable at any speed.

""The Black Album" (later reissued by Mute as "Boyd Rice"), which contained the word "cry" from every Lesley Gore record alongside many other sampled extracts. Only 86 copies were originally pressed, which guarantees its status on today's collecting market.

Music, Martinis and Misanthropy (1989-90)

  1. Invocation
  2. People
  3. The Hunter
  4. Nightwatch
  5. Disney Land Can Wait
  6. An Eye For An Eye
  7. Down In The Willow Garden
  8. I'd Rather Be Your Enemy
  9. Tripped A Beateous Maiden
  10. As For The Fools
  11. Shadow Of The Night
  12. History Lesson
  13. Silence Is Golden
Music, Martinis and Misanthropy is a mellow, neofolk and spoken word album that combines acoustic and electronic instrumentation with brutal, Social Darwinist lyrics and poetry. It was created by pioneer noise artist Boyd Rice and an assortment of dark folk all stars. Bob Ferbrache is the recording engineer.

It was recorded in Tokyo, Japan and Denver, Colorado between July 1989 and March 1990 for NER/Tesco.

The lineup for this album was:
Boyd Rice-- vocals
Douglas P. of Death In June--Guitar, backing vocals
Tony Wakeford of Sol Invictus and L'Orchestre Noir--Bass Guitar
Rose McDowall of Strawberry Switchblade, Spell, and Sorrow--Guitar and backing vocals
Michael Moynihan of Blood Axis--drums
Bob Ferbrache--Piano, Surf Zither

This album is considered a classic, yet defies easy categorization. The music is lilting, hypnotic, and aesthetically quite pleasing to the ear. It features restructurings of works by The Carpenters, Rod McKuen, and Ragnar Redbeard, as well as original vitriolic and humanist pieces and misanthropic tunes by Rice. There is also a plaintive duet of sorts between Rice and McDowall (who would later record an album of suicide songs under the name of Spell) on the traditional murder ballad, "Down in the Willow Garden". A great deal of the music was arranged by Douglas P. in collaboration with Rice and Ferbrache.

This album was inspired by Rod McKuen's spoken word albums and Jackie Gleason's romantic recordings from the 1950s. The title and album cover are a tribute to Gleasons's album, Music, Martinis, and Memories. The liner notes thank Anton LaVey, Rod McKuen, Ragnar Redbeard, Lee Hazlewood, Pat Purdy, Richard and Karen C., The Everly Brothers' Father, Walt Disney, Artie De Gobineau and "Big" Jim Huberty.

Going Steady With Peggy Moffitt (2008)

  1. Contact
  2. Sunset Strip SS
  3. Rocket USA
  4. Bubblegum New Forever
  5. Going Steady With Peggy Moffitt
  6. Bonnie & Clyde
Dedicated to: Peggy & Rudi, Serge & BB, Nancy & Lee, Clyde & Bonnie, Porter & Dolly, James & Mickey, Cher & Sonny. Thanks to Rodney Bingenheimer.

Pressed on pink heart-shaped vinyl. Sleeve printed in black ink on glossy silver foil cardstock. B-side ends with a locked groove. Limited to an edition of 1,000 individually numbered copies. Pre-orders came signed by Boyd Rice and Giddle Partridge.