Luigi Russolo (1885-1947)

1. Risveglio Di Una Città, 1913
2. Crepitatore
3. Ululatore
4. Gracidatore
5. Gorgogliatore
6. Ronzatore
7. Arco Enarmonico
8. Corale 1921
9. Serenata, 1921
10. L'aviatore Dro Op.33
11. Macchina Tipografica
12. Canzone Rumorista
13. Omaggio A Luigi Russolo FŸr Stimme Und Digitale Intonarumori.

From Die Kunst der Geräusche, CD accompanying the book of Russolo's manifesto The Art of Noises (PDF)

Intonarumori Orchestra

  1. Russolo Phone (8:21)

    Composed by Atsuhiro Ito
    Performed by Sachiko M, Otomo Yoshihide, Tetuzi Akiyama, Toshimaru Nakamura, Taku Sugimoto, and Atsuhiro Ito

  2. Intonarumori (5:20)

    Composed and performed by Sachiko M

  3. Future Circuit (7:38)

    Composed by Tetuzi Akiyama
    Performed by Sachiko M, Atsuhiro Ito, Tetuzi Akiyama, Otomo Yoshihide, Taku Sugimoto, and Toshimaru Nakamura

  4. Disk (9:17)

    Composed by Toshimaru Nakamura
    Performed by Taku Sugimoto

  5. Anode #4 (7:46)

    Composed by Otomo Yoshihide
    Performed by Otomo Yoshide, Toshimaru Nakamura, Tetuzi Akiyama, Atsuhiro Ito, Sachiko M, and Taku Sugimoto

  6. All about Something 2 (14:07)

    Composed and conducted by Taku Sugimoto
    Performed by Otomo Yoshihide, Tetuzi Akiyama, and Toshimaru Nakamura

Performed (on six replica Intonarumori) and recorded at Tama Art University Museum, Tokyo, February 24, 2002

The 'Intonorumori' or noise machines were a family of acoustic sound generators designed by Luigi Russolo to create the palette of sound described in the "Art of Noises". In "Art of Noises" (1913), Russolo describes the passage through history from silence to sound and on to noise-sound and musical noise. he argued that the limited range of the current musical instruments could no longer satisfy modern man's acoustic thirst. The individual machines were basic in appearance: solid boxes of varying sizes and heights each fitted with a huge metal speaker. Russolo and his assistant Piatti worked away perfecting them ready for their first full scale concert in 1914.Intonarumori Orchestra (Off Site, OFF SITE-004) (Japan) (CD)

Luigio Russolo in UbuWeb Historical